Skip to content

Cookbook review and Giveway: The Christmas Table (Recipe: Chili Rice Casserole)

May 24, 2012
christmastable (1)

Cookbooks. One of my favorite things in the whole big world. Christmas. One of my other favorite things in the whole big world.  A Christmas cookbook.  Now, we’re talking! This week, I started reviewing Gooseberry Patch’sThe Christmas Table. The book couldn’t have arrived at a more perfect time. The weather has been so hot we all are about to swivel on the vine.  Enter: a cookbook about Christmas.  Ahhhhh…….the weather is suddenly more tolerable and my mood is lighter.  Mental images of Christmas don’t include sleigh rides and snowmen if you live in Central Florida. However, the days are milder, the nights are chilly and we can forget about 90+ degrees temperatures for a little while.  We revel in the Christmas festivities,  visit  friends and family, entertain and be entertained, cook, eat and worship.  It’s a remarkable time of the year.

Flipping through any Gooseberry Patch cookbook is a heartwarming experience.  Not only are they chock full of favorite recipes, they also contain cooking and entertaining tips and heartfelt sentiments. The Christmas Table is no exception.

For a thoughtful gift that’s easy on the wallet, purchase a calendar and fill in birthdays, anniversaries and other important family events….a nice gift for those new to the family!

 

The 220 page cookbook  contains 6 chapters.

Cozy Christmas Brunch. During the busy holiday season, brunch is ever more popular.  It’s a an easier meal for entertaining than dinner. Baked Hard-Boiled Egg Casserole, Quiché Muffins and Apple Cider Breakfast Oats are some of the interesting and versatile recipes found in this chapter.

Soup is always an option for a hearty, stress free meal.  Christmas Eve Pasta e Fagioli, Velvet Broccoli Cheese Soup, and Cheese Lasagna Soup are options included in Chill-Chasing Soups and Breads.  Round out those meals with Christmas Croissants, 4-way Versatile Quick Bread or Potato Biscuits.

After an evening of caroling, gather with your friends to share a meal using recipes from Caroling Party Supper.  Dive into Swiss Alps Casserole, Impossible Tex-Mex Chicken Pie or Homestyle Pot Roast.  

If preparing Christmas Dinner is a daunting task, fear no more.  Your will be the star of your celebration by offering such dishes as Lasagna Rolls, Christmas Celebration Salad or Mom’s Perfect Prime Rib found in Classic Christmas Dinner.  

Make your home welcoming by offering your guests some delicious appetizers and snacks found in Festive Holiday Fare. Everyone will enjoy Snow-Covered Cranberries, Cannoli Dip and BBQ Wontons.

Finally, there are many Sweet Treats to Share. What’s Christmas without a sugar overload? Whip up some Apricot-Coconut Bites, Chocolate Peppermint Cookies or Triple Chocolate Coffee Brownies. 

I’m already making plans to include  several recipes from The Christmas Table  in my Christmas festivities.   More than likely, you  will find a few of the decorating tips in my home this Christmas, too.

Chile Rice Casserole is  recipe from the Caroling Party Supper chapter.  It’s a nice alternative side dish to  Mexican Rice for a Tex-Mex Dinner. It’s hardy enough for an entree, also.

Chile Rice Casserole

Adapted from The Christmas Table, Gooseberry Patch

yield: 6 to 8 servings

I sprinkled the top with chili powder to add color and give an extra pop of chile flavor. The original directions called for the casserole to bake for 30 minutes.  It took an additional 10 minutes for the casserole to get become hot and bubbly. It’s assemble in one bowl and then popped into a casserole dish and baked.  Couldn’t be easier.

Chile Rice Casserole     

2 cups cooked white rice (I prefer Basmati)

16 ounces sour cream

8 ounces Colby Jack cheese, shredded

4 ounces canned  mild green chili peppers, diced

Salt and pepper to taste

Chili powder for topping

Mix all ingredients, except chili powder,  in  a mixing bowl. Adjust  for salt and pepper.   Pour into a greased 8×8 baking dish.  Sprinkle top with chili powder.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes  uncovered or until heated thoroughly and bubbly.

Mix all the ingredients in one bowl and bake. Easy.

Syrup and Biscuits would like to sincerely thank Gooseberry Patch for opportunity to review this delightful cookbook. Purchase one for yourself and several to give as gifts.  It’s going to be a nice Christmas in 2012.

Gooseberry Patch furnished me with two copies of The Christmas Table in exchange for providing a review of the product.  All comments and opinions are mine.  Are you kidding?  No one else would claim them.

This contest is now closed. Congratulations to the winners!

Now, here’s your chance to win a copy of The Christmas Table.  The giveaway contest entry will be in two parts;  this post  and another coming up next week. To be eligible for the giveaway, here’s what you must do:

(1) Leave a comment on this post in the comment section saying, “I’m looking forward to eating ___________________ at Christmas.”  Fill in the blank with your favorite Christmas food.  It can be a sweet treat, a main dish, an appetizer….anything you associate with Christmas.

(2) Be on the lookout for the second part of the giveaway contest coming up next week in a separate post.

You can have additional chances to win.  Earn one additional chance for each of the following:

(1) Earn an additional chance by sharing this post on your Facebook page. You can use the button at the bottom of this post.

(2) Earn an additional chance by sharing this post on Twitter.  You can use the button at the bottom of this post.

(3) Earn an additional chance by liking Gooseberry Patch’s Facebook page.

(4) Earn an additional chance by liking Syrup and Biscuit’s Facebook page.

For each additional chance, you must leave me a comment telling me what you did.  Only comments left in the comment section below will be counted..

So, get started on this portion of the giveaway.  Time’s a wastin’.

You might enjoy these cookbook reviews:

101 Soups, Salads and Sandwiches

Cider Beans, Wild Greens and Dandelion Jelly

Mary Mac’s Tea Room, 65 of Recipes from Atlanta’s Favorite Dining Room

Quick-fix Southern, Homemade Hospitality in 30 minutes or Less

Tupelo Honey Cafe, Spirited Recipes from Asheville’s New South Kitchen

 

 

Print Friendly

If you enjoyed this post, please share it!

[sharethis]
159 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Neill permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:34 pm

    I am looking forward to eating the molasses jumbles that my sister in law makes and all of the other cookies that my sister starts baking in November. They are wonderful!

  2. Connie Bolick Lee permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:23 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating all kinds of Cookies at Christmas.

  3. Mary Gardner permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:23 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating my Mom’s Gumdrop Cookies (recipe from pre-1940) at Christmas. Always a tradition!! Must have one on Christmas morning to dunk in the coffee :)

  4. Mary Gardner permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:24 pm

    Already a fan of Syrup and Biscuit’s FB page, have been for a long time :)

  5. Connie Bolick Lee permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:25 pm

    I shared the giveaway on facebook

  6. Mary Gardner permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:26 pm

    Have ‘Liked’ Gooseberry Patch FB page for a long time :) And have liked their cookbooks for even longer!!

  7. Connie Bolick Lee permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:27 pm

    I shared the giveaway on twitter https://twitter.com/ConnieBolickLee/status/205847191355527168

  8. Connie Bolick Lee permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:29 pm

    I like Gooseberry Patch’s facebook page

  9. Mary Gardner permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:30 pm

    Shared :)

  10. Dru Lovett permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:47 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating cake balls at Christmas. I always make them for my grandsons.

    I shared this on FB and Twitter. I have been a fan of Syrup and Biscuits for a long time. I “steal” a lot of your posts.

  11. Sheila Shook permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:54 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating fried turkey and dressing at Christmas.

  12. Sheila Shook permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:56 pm

    I’ve posted your link to my FB page.

  13. Vicky Kleppelid permalink
    May 24, 2012 10:57 pm

    I am looking froward to making our traditional recipe of Amalgamation Cake. This recipe has been in our family for at least 60 something years. I have “liked” syrupandbiscuits on FB for along time. Will “like” Gooseberry’s page on FB. I LOVE Gooseberry cookbooks so much, recipes and the stories too.

  14. Sheila Shook permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:57 pm

    I “liked” Gooseberry Patch FB page

  15. Sheila Shook permalink
    May 24, 2012 9:57 pm

    I “liked” Syrup and Biscuit’s Facebook page.

  16. Sue, a Florida Farm Girl permalink
    May 24, 2012 10:50 pm

    Oh, my goodness!! I’d be adding some chipotle powder to that casserole!

  17. May 24, 2012 11:48 pm

    I LOVE Christmas!

    I look forward to food of all sorts but my grandmother’s recipe for French Toutiere Pie is tops on my list.

  18. Wendi Hamel permalink
    May 25, 2012 6:54 am

    Looking forward to eating christmas cookies, I bake diffrent kinds of cookies for x-mas and to give away as gifts…

  19. Wendi Hamel permalink
    May 25, 2012 6:55 am

    already like syrup and bicuits on facebook!!!

  20. Wendi Hamel permalink
    May 25, 2012 6:59 am

    already liked gooseberry patch facebook page, I’ve been collecting there books for years…love them!!!!

  21. Wendi Hamel permalink
    May 25, 2012 7:00 am

    posted your link to my facebook page and told everybody to check your wonderful recipes!!!

  22. karen richards permalink
    May 25, 2012 7:16 am

    I’m looking forward to eating __oyster dressing__ at Christmas.

    • May 25, 2012 7:21 am

      Karen,

      Oyster dressing…that’s a good old fashioned recipe. My Granny used to oyster stew. Have you ever had that? :)

  23. sherrie permalink
    May 25, 2012 7:21 am

    i’m so excited about this recipe! Christmas is good too and i love giving my momma her Gooseberry cookbook every yr. God bless!

  24. karen richards permalink
    May 25, 2012 7:24 am

    Already liked your page and Gooseberry Patch’s pages on FB and have shared this give away on FB.

    Forgot to add to my earlier post that our oyster dressing recipe is different. It has carrots and spinach in it and was in Better Homes and Gardens Magazine years ago. They called it Oyster Rockefeller Dressing. It is delicious! We always had oyster dressing when I was growing up and it is my favorite. This recipe gilds the lily.

  25. Lynn Reed permalink
    May 25, 2012 8:49 am

    I’m looking forward to SAUSAGE BALLS! Every Christmas morning we have lots of appetizer breakfast foods to nosh as we open gifts. It wouldn’t be Christmas without our sausage balls!

  26. Jeanne Mayes permalink
    May 25, 2012 8:57 am

    I’m looking forward to eating Swedish meatballs (my Granny’s recipe) on Christmas. Would not be Christmas w/o them.

  27. Tammy Davis permalink
    May 25, 2012 8:58 am

    I’m looking forward to eating all the goodies my daughter makes at Christmas. YUM! I’ve like Gooseberry Patch of FB for a while now and you know I LOVE Syrup and Biscuits !!!!! :) Also, I’m sharing this on my page.

  28. Esther T. permalink
    May 25, 2012 9:23 am

    My daughter makes the best pumpkin cheesecake. I look forward to it every year.

  29. Robin permalink
    May 25, 2012 9:29 am

    I am looking forward to eating EVERYTHING at Christmas! I have too many good things to choose from.

  30. gail permalink
    May 25, 2012 10:48 am

    I’m looking forward to eating Christmas cookies at Christmas

  31. gail permalink
    May 25, 2012 10:49 am

    liked you on fb

  32. gail permalink
    May 25, 2012 10:49 am

    liked gooseberry patch on fb

  33. Roxie permalink
    May 25, 2012 10:58 am

    I’m looking forward to eating Red Velvet Cake and assorted cookies and goodies.
    Love Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks.

  34. Heather Hazen permalink
    May 25, 2012 11:22 am

    Baking and decorating Gingerbread Houses with friends and family has been a part of my Christmas Celebrations for 25 years. There are always new ideas for design and new candies to use.

  35. May 25, 2012 3:31 pm

    I look forward to different kinds of cheese cakes…especially the orange fluff cheese cake

  36. Tammy Dalton permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:46 pm

    I have liked you on facebook.

  37. Tammy Dalton permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:47 pm

    I have liked gooseberry patch on facebook. Also told them I was here.

  38. Tammy Dalton permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:48 pm

    I can’t wait for Christmas to taste sausage rollups!! Yummy!

  39. Tammy Dalton permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:51 pm

    I am now following you on pinterest. Thank you for all of your recipes.
    PS what is the picture of on top of your timeline looks yummy.:)

    • May 25, 2012 4:40 pm

      Hi Tammy! The picture of of Braised Pork Shanks. They are really yummy. I’ve got the recipe in the index on the blog. Look for the recipe tab at the top of the page. Go down to “Main Dish” and then “Pork”. You’ll find it there. Let me know if you have any problems trying to find it! :)

  40. JUlie M permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:53 pm

    “I’m looking forward to eating all the baked goods at Christmas.”

  41. JUlie M permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:55 pm

    Shared on facebook

  42. JUlie M permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:55 pm

    Shared on twitter

  43. JUlie M permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:56 pm

    Liked Gooseberry Patch’s facebook page

  44. Kedith Blair permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:57 pm

    I am looking to eating cranberry salad at Christmas I recipe that I got from my dear sweet sister that has become a family tradition.

  45. JUlie M permalink
    May 25, 2012 3:57 pm

    Liked Syrup and Biscuit’s facebook page

  46. Kedith Blair permalink
    May 25, 2012 4:02 pm

    I also liked syrup and biscuits don’t know how I have missed that all this time but excited to find it and can’t wait to read the posts.

  47. Mary ann permalink
    May 25, 2012 4:05 pm

    I am looking forward to Sunset cookies at Christmas. Why is it there are some sweets we only make once a year when everyone loves them?

  48. Kedith Blair permalink
    May 25, 2012 4:05 pm

    Shared the link and a personal message about the chance to win a free cookbook with my facebook friends.

  49. Mary ann permalink
    May 25, 2012 4:06 pm

    I do “like” you on FB!

  50. Mary ann permalink
    May 25, 2012 4:08 pm

    And do “like” Gooseberry too on FB! Thanks for chance to win a holiday cookbook Jackie!

  51. Leslie permalink
    May 25, 2012 5:00 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating Roast Leg of Lamb on Christmas!

  52. Tammy permalink
    May 25, 2012 6:18 pm

    I am looking forward to eating some turkey & dressing & a slice of Peanut Butter Pie on Christmas.

  53. Kathy permalink
    May 25, 2012 9:14 pm

    Christmas is my favorite time of year!!! “I’m looking forward to eating _new recipes with my family_ at Christmas.”

  54. May 25, 2012 10:10 pm

    I’m looking forward to continuing the tradition from my childhood and eating marzipan, maple sugar, and spritz cookies!!

  55. May 26, 2012 3:52 am

    i would’ve spent all my time in the sweets section of the cookbook, so i’m glad you made this casserole. rice never looked so good.
    fudge. i plan to eat my weight in fudge this christmas, like every other christmas before it. :)

    • May 26, 2012 8:22 am

      Grace,

      I would love to know how many pounds of fudge and Divinity are consumed during the month of December. I make them both myself! :)

  56. May 26, 2012 10:03 am

    “I’m looking forward to eating ______chocolate cover cherries_____________ at Christmas.”

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  57. May 26, 2012 10:42 am

    tweeted giveaway

    https://twitter.com/1apple_blossom/status/206409828040572930

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  58. May 26, 2012 10:43 am

    liked Gooseberry Patch’s Facebook page.

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  59. Dawn permalink
    May 26, 2012 1:17 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating Mama’s cornbread dressing and anything made by Jackie Garvin!!

  60. Dawn permalink
    May 26, 2012 1:23 pm

    I shared this on facebook!

  61. Dawn permalink
    May 26, 2012 1:24 pm

    I liked Gooseberry Patch’s fb page.

  62. Dawn permalink
    May 26, 2012 1:24 pm

    I liked Syrup and Biscuits’ fb page.

  63. May 27, 2012 5:49 am

    “I’m looking forward to eating crescent cookies at Christmas.”

  64. May 27, 2012 5:51 am

    Liked Gooseberry Patch’s Facebook page.

  65. May 27, 2012 5:51 am

    Liked Syrup and Biscuit’s Facebook page.

  66. May 27, 2012 5:52 am

    Shared this post on your Facebook page

  67. Jute permalink
    May 27, 2012 12:19 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating my famous chocolate roulage this Christmas…it is delicious…if I do say so myself!!

  68. Jute permalink
    May 27, 2012 1:26 pm

    I did 3.
    1) I said what I was looking forward to at Christmas. 2) I shared this post. 3) I liked your Syrup and Biscuit FB.

  69. Susan H. permalink
    May 27, 2012 6:34 pm

    I’m looking forward to red velvet cake. Don’t know why I only make at Christmas.

  70. Susan H. permalink
    May 27, 2012 6:36 pm

    I shared on FB.

  71. Susan H. permalink
    May 27, 2012 6:37 pm

    I tweeted about the giveaway.

  72. Susan H. permalink
    May 27, 2012 6:37 pm

    I like Gooseberry Patch on FB.

  73. Susan H. permalink
    May 27, 2012 6:38 pm

    I like your FB page.

  74. Amanda S-K permalink
    May 27, 2012 10:54 pm

    I’m looking forward to homemade egg noodles

  75. Susan C permalink
    May 28, 2012 6:56 am

    Looking forward to Christmas casserole

  76. Susan C permalink
    May 28, 2012 6:57 am

    I follow Gooseberry Patch on FB

  77. Jennie permalink
    May 28, 2012 9:38 pm

    “I’m looking forward to eating the many sweets and treats at Christmas.”

  78. Jennie permalink
    May 29, 2012 7:32 am

    I’m a follower of S & B.

  79. Jennie permalink
    May 29, 2012 7:36 am

    I’m looking forward to eating special sweets and treats at Christmas. Didn’t seem to register on my first try last night.

  80. Ann permalink
    May 29, 2012 8:37 am

    I am looking forward to eating Pecan sandies – make them every year. I already like you on Facebook! Would love this cookbook, I am sure!

  81. Ann permalink
    May 29, 2012 8:39 am

    I shared your link on Facebook!

  82. angela m permalink
    May 29, 2012 1:38 pm

    “I’m looking forward to eating stuffing at Christmas.
    thanks
    flower_child_23(at)hotmail(dot)com

  83. angela m permalink
    May 29, 2012 1:40 pm

    shared on facebook
    http://www.facebook.com/angela.marriott.92/posts/181357565324772

  84. angela m permalink
    May 29, 2012 1:41 pm

    shared on twitter
    https://twitter.com/flower_child_23/status/207542032154116097

  85. angela m permalink
    May 29, 2012 1:41 pm

    LIked Gooseberry Patch’s Facebook page.
    angela m

  86. angela m permalink
    May 29, 2012 1:42 pm

    Liked Syrup and Biscuit’s Facebook page.
    angela m

  87. May 30, 2012 5:20 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating turkey & dressing at Christmas.

  88. May 31, 2012 2:02 pm

    “I’m looking forward to eating My Mom’s Toffee Bar Cookies at Christmas.”
    It’s part of our Christmas Traditions which also include my Nonny’s Kolachkes as well as other recipes I’ve picked-up over the years as an Air Force Wife. It reminds us of the folk we love and keeps us close in heart and memory…

  89. Renee Pedroza permalink
    May 31, 2012 2:04 pm

    I look forward to eating my MIL’s Bread Pudding =)

  90. Jill J permalink
    May 31, 2012 2:16 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating a delicious ham at Christmas.

  91. Jill J permalink
    May 31, 2012 2:18 pm

    I like Gooseberry Patch on FB

  92. Jill J permalink
    May 31, 2012 2:18 pm

    I like Syrup and Biscuits on FB

  93. May 31, 2012 11:13 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating gingerbread cookies at Christmas!

  94. Joan permalink
    June 1, 2012 7:25 am

    I’m looking forward to eating one of my daughter’s homemade cookies at Christmas.

  95. Joan permalink
    June 1, 2012 7:26 am

    I like Gooseberry Patch on Facebook.

  96. Joan permalink
    June 1, 2012 7:27 am

    I like Syrup nad Biscuitson Facebook.

  97. April V permalink
    June 1, 2012 8:13 am

    I can’t wait for my mamas sweet potatoe casserole!!

  98. mary fanara coleman permalink
    June 1, 2012 10:07 pm

    “I’m looking forward to eating my dad’s homemade lasagna at Christmas.

  99. mary fanara coleman permalink
    June 1, 2012 10:09 pm

    I shared on twitter page here……..https://twitter.com/ciaomjc/status/208757034898833409

  100. mary fanara coleman permalink
    June 1, 2012 10:09 pm

    I like syrup and biscuits on fb.

  101. mary fanara coleman permalink
    June 1, 2012 10:10 pm

    I like GP on fb.

  102. Rhonda Desgranges permalink
    June 2, 2012 12:52 am

    I am looking forward to eating Christmas cookies at Christmas!

  103. Rhonda Desgranges permalink
    June 2, 2012 12:53 am

    I like you on FB!

  104. Rhonda Desgranges permalink
    June 2, 2012 12:54 am

    I like Gooseberry Patch on FB!

  105. Laura Lane permalink
    June 2, 2012 10:25 am

    german apple stuffing

  106. Jennifer permalink
    June 2, 2012 10:53 am

    I’m looking forward to eating rolls at Christmas.

  107. Jennifer permalink
    June 2, 2012 10:55 am

    I like your Facebook page.

  108. Jennifer permalink
    June 2, 2012 10:56 am

    I tweeted about the giveaway. https://twitter.com/wenebara/status/208949969154084864

  109. Jennifer permalink
    June 2, 2012 10:59 am

    I like Gooseberry Patch on Facebook.

  110. jacquie permalink
    June 4, 2012 12:31 pm

    christmas cookies of course – in all different varieties

  111. Patricia Delimpaltadakis permalink
    June 5, 2012 7:12 am

    I saw a recipe mentioning apricot-coconut bites that I would look forward to eating at Christmas time. I also look forward to Christmas cookies

  112. Teri permalink
    June 7, 2012 7:30 am

    Brown sugar spice glazed ham, yummy!

  113. jilli oyenque permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:49 pm

    I am looking forward to eating all the goodies my friends make for me…

  114. Connie Ward permalink
    June 7, 2012 3:49 pm

    I am looking forward to deep fried turkey and all the trimmings at Christmas.

  115. Carol Baize permalink
    June 7, 2012 3:51 pm

    I always look forward to hosting my annual Cookie Swap, and tasting all those delicious cookies from Gooseberry Patch’s book “Cookie Swap”. I use it every year, and have since bought one for my daughter. Nothing says Christmas like a good old fashioned Cookie Swap!

  116. Sara Cannon Voges permalink
    June 7, 2012 3:59 pm

    I am looking forward to eating my aunt’s crinkle cookies!!! They are the best!

  117. Sara Cannon Voges permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:00 pm

    shared on facebook :)

  118. Sara Cannon Voges permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:00 pm

    Fan of GBP on facebook :)

  119. jean permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:01 pm

    I look forward to eating up all of the traditions my family has Christmas.

  120. Sara Cannon Voges permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:02 pm

    Liked S & B on facebook

  121. June 7, 2012 4:14 pm

    I am looking forward to eating Chocolate Pudding Pie at Christmas!

  122. B. Bruner permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:21 pm

    I am looking forward to eating mashed potatoes and turkey gravy at Christmas!

  123. Judith permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:24 pm

    I always love gingerbread cookies at Christmas time.

  124. Marlene Stratton permalink
    June 7, 2012 4:27 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating sweet potato casserole at Christmas!

  125. Rachel Harter permalink
    June 7, 2012 5:04 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating homemade ginger cookies at Christmas! I am a newlywed, and my husband and I shared our first Christmas together last year. My grandma taught me how to make these cookies, and it brings me such joy to make them for my husband during the holiday season! They taste delicious too :)

  126. sue gibson permalink
    June 7, 2012 8:42 pm

    I’m looking forwartd to eating turkey at Christmas

  127. sue gibson permalink
    June 7, 2012 8:43 pm

    I like Gooseberry Patch on facebook

  128. Elaine S permalink
    June 7, 2012 10:01 pm

    I am looking forward to eating homemade Christmas cookies and candy.

  129. Elaine S permalink
    June 7, 2012 10:04 pm

    I have liked Gooseberry Patch on Facebook.

  130. Elaine S permalink
    June 7, 2012 10:07 pm

    I have liked Syrup and Biscuit’s Facebook page.

  131. Fran Kuntz permalink
    July 30, 2012 10:32 am

    Living in Ontario, Canada, until now I’ve never heard of Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks. The “Colonial Brown Bread” sounds the best as it is made with healthy ingredients and looks delicious. Would soon like to make it.
    In a total picture Christmas is not Christmas without worship, family, friends and surrounded by healthy food and laughter. Hope to find out more about the Gooseberry Patch Cookbooks. Thanks !

    • August 1, 2012 3:21 pm

      Fran,

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope you visit us again.

      If you love simple, down home recipe, Gooseberry Patch would be right up your alley. :)

  132. Kathy Jensen permalink
    November 13, 2012 4:43 pm

    I’m looking forward to eating fruitcake at Christmas–yes, it’s true. I love fruitcake, especially if it tastes like the kind my grandmother used to make every year!

  133. colleen siullivan permalink
    December 27, 2012 7:56 pm

    I am looking forward to christmas punch …made with green jawaiin puch, vanilla icecream and sprite zero

Trackbacks

  1. Cookbook Giveaway! (Recipe: Colonial Brown Bread) | Syrup and Biscuits

We love hearing from you! All of your comments are held until we read them. We want to make sure that we don't miss a one of them.

%d bloggers like this:
The Blogger NetworkAdvertise with us Report this ad